Westmorland County FA 2017 Grassroots Heros

The FA Community Awards sponsored by McDonald’s were presented to clubs and club officials at the Westmorland County FA AGM on Thursday 9 June at Kendal Town Hall.

The aim of the Awards is to recognise and reward grassroots clubs, coaches and volunteers across the country who keep the national game alive. Nominees can be from any walk of life and the Westmorland County FA is calling on locals to nominate their unsung heroes who have gone above and beyond in the name of football.

Peter Ducksbury, Chief Executive, Westmorland County FA said “The FA and McDonald’s Community Awards are an absolutely brilliant way to celebrate the selflessness of all those volunteers, clubs and leagues and the innumerable hours they put into supporting grassroots football”.

“This year’s awards shone the spotlight on some incredible individuals and the work they do in Westmorland”

I would encourage everyone involved in grassroots football to vote for someone who they think truly deserves an award. It would be great to see hundreds of nominations from Westmorland and perhaps even some national finalists.”

The following awards were presented by President, Tommy Huck:-

Charter Standard Community Club of the Year

Kendal United FC

Charter Standard Club of the Year

Ambleside United JFC

Charter Standard Young Volunteer of the Year 

Joshua Kirkby (Ibis United JFC)

Charter Standard Coach of the Year

Patrick Berry (Castle Park Girls Football)

Charter Standard People’s choice, Outstanding Contribution to Community Football

Nicola Wilkinson (Milnthorpe & District JFC)

Fair Play Awards

Senior Club

Ullswater United FC

On the behalf of the Directors, Officers, Council and Staff – Congratulations to all the award winners - the game survives by the virtue of the outstanding work of this volunteer workforce.