2018 Under 25 League Winners

2018 Under 25 League Winners

Westmorland County FA Under 25 Summer League ended in dramatic fashion to round off another successful year.

With the title been taken to the last gameweek it was all to play for as Ibis met Endmoor and Corinthians faced Lunesdale. Sitting on the top of the table at the start of the night was Kendal United who finished undefeated with two wins and two draws.  It was between Kendal United and Ibis for the title and Ibis knew anything less than a win would see the runners up for a 4th year running.

Endmoor started the better of the teams and took a surprise lead when Sam Wilson fired home following some great one touch passing. Endmoor were on top for the majority of the first half however Ibis levelled the game when Cory Robinson headed home after a long throw in. Ibis quickly took advantage and scored through Lee Tattersall from close range.

In the second half Endmoor’s goalkeeper saw his long kick ruled to not have crossed the line. He launched the ball forward and the ball sprung over everyone including Ibis goalkeeper. As the keeper clawed the ball out the net, Endmoor celebrated however the referee adjudged that the ball didn’t cross the line! Ibis finished the game off soon after when Tyler Park scored to deliver the title to Ibis for the first time!

In the second game Corinthians finished off with a resounding win over hardworking Lunesdale.  Lunesdale took the lead following a mix up and Sean Boustead scored, Corinthians powered home however with goals from Dan Nowell, Tom Jackson and a Josh Casson hatrick.  Bailey Dobson grabbed a late consolation for Lunesdale. Josh Casson finished as the golden boot winner with a total of 5 goals in the competition.

Thanks to all teams, players and referees for taking part in the 2018 Under 25 Summer League and see you all in 2019!

Related News

View All