Senior Cup Winners 2018 Appleby FC

Senior Challenge Cup Final 2018

Appleby FC Winners of the Senior Challenge Cup Final 2018

Senior Challenge Cup Final

Saturday 28 April 2018

Kendal County FC v Appleby FC

At Kendal Town FC, Parkside Road, Kendal

Bobby Atkinson’s first half hat-trick saw James Cropper Westmorland League side Appleby win the Senior Challenge Cup after they defeated West Lancashire League side Kendal County 3-1 in the final which was played at Kendal Town FC.

Appleby who have now won two top cup competitions in the county, deserved their win against a Kendal County side who were seen as the favourites going into the show piece final.

County started well and pressed Appleby back for the opening ten minutes with Cameron Stewart and Bailey Carlos denied goal scoring opportunities by Appleby’s keeper Joshua Richardson.

Appleby almost opened the scoring when John Coward headed over the bar, before Joshua Addison- Adams fired wide.

However, Appleby opened the scoring midway through the first half when Atkinson scored from close range off an Addison Adams rebound off the post.

Atkinson made it 2-0 soon after, when the talisman found himself clean through on goal before placing the ball past Ryan Dodds in the County goal.

With Appleby on the front foot they made it 3-0 just before half time when Atkinson completed his hat-trick after prodding home from close range, capitalising on a mistake by County’s keeper Dodds who dropped the ball from a straight forward delivery.

Half Time: Kendal County 0, Appleby 3

County came out fighting in the second half and Appleby had to sustain a lot of pressure, however Richardson was in good form to deny Connor Walmsley, Carlos and Stewart the chance of scoring goals.

Atkinson missed a glorious opportunity for Appleby after the striker saw his shot on goal rebound off the post.

County pulled a goal back in the closing stages when Carlos tapped home from close range.

Appleby saw out the closing stages to celebrate a memorable win!.

Full Time: Kendal County 1, Appleby 3


Kendal County FC

Ryan Dodds, Brody Wallace-Moffat, Elliot Richardson, Daniel Ferguson, Declan Thompson, Kristofer Clough, Robert Warwick, Bailey Carlos, Cameron Stewart, Connor Walmsley, Josh Casson, Jay Turner, Rory Neale and Jason Jones

Appleby FC

Joshua Richardson, Richard Faustino, David Nugent, Thomas Armstrong, Tony Ousby, Dan Robinson, John Coward, Benjamin Jackson, Bobby Atkinson, Jordan Crawford, Joshua Addison-Adams, Liam Kinnear, Antony Lund and James Addison

Match Officials:

Referee: John Higgins

Assistant Referees: Chris Dixon and Terry Allonby

4th Official: Mark Robson

Related Match Reports

View All