Minor Cup Winners 2018 Ibis Youth FC

Minor Cup Final 2018

Ibis YFC Winners of the Minor Cup 2018

Sunday 6 May 2018

Minor Cup Final

Kendal Town FC

Swarthmoor JFC v Ibis YFC

Kent Valley League under 16 teams Swarthmoor and Ibis played each other in an entertaining Minor Cup Final.

The game started in a fairly open manner with half chances falling for both teams. It was Ibis who opened the scoring when L Parker scored from a direct corner straight into the back post.

Both teams had chances in the first half with Swarthmoor awarded a penalty toward the end of the half but were unable to convert.

Half Time: Swarthmoor 0, Ibis 1

Swarthmoor started on the front foot in the second half and were back on level terms shortly after half time when E Cole scored from a penalty.  Swarthmoor took the lead 10 minutes later when Ibis failed to clear from a set piece and it fell at the feet of Swarthmoors J Grave who finished from close range. 

Ibis pushed for an equaliser and were duly rewarded when a penalty was given and L Parker stepped up to equalise.

Full Time: Swarthmoor 2, Ibis 2

As the final match of the day went to extra time both teams fought on to try and secure the much needed goal, the only chance fell to Ibis when K Knowles hit the bar from close range.

Extra Time: Swarthmoor 2, Ibis 2

The game was decided on penalties

Result: Swarthmoor 4, Ibis 5


Swarthmoor JFC:

J. Tyson, J. Butterworth, G. Stubbs, C. Davies, A. Beardsworth,  A. Brownlee, J. McGarry,         J. Grave, L. Armstrong, E. Cole, B. Molyneux, J. Spencer, W. Guy, E. Burrow

Ibis YFC:

S. Wilkinson, F. Berry, J. Burrow, J. Ireland, K. Knowles, B. Tomlinson, A. Shepherd, L. Parker, W. Yarker, R. Smith, J. Green, J. Jardine, S. Coleman

Match Officials:

Referee: C. Mulhall

Assistant Referees: K. Clancy and B.Granger

4th Official: S. Shipperd


Related Match Reports

View All