Invitation Trophy Winner 2018/19 season - Keswick FC

Invitation Trophy 2018-19 Final

invitation trophy final 2018/19 season

Last season’s treble cup winners Appleby FC met Westmorland League Division 1 champions and current league leaders Keswick in a memorable Westmorland County FA Invitational Trophy final.

Appleby made a blistering start to the game and scored within the first minute when Bobby Atkinson fired home from close range. Cup specialists Appleby were in the mood for more success and extended their lead when Ben Jackson picked up a loose ball and coolly slotted past the Keswick keeper John Phillips. Despite Keswick’s attempts to get back into the game Appleby were relentless and were in dreamland when Bobby Atkinson cut inside onto his left foot and dispatched a clinical effort into the bottom corner.

Halt Time Score: Appleby FC 3 Keswick FC 0

The second half was a different story and after substitutes C.Rowley, S.Rowley and Hilton came on Keswick were a different outfit. The deficit was reduced to two when Keswick captain Stephen Hindmarch rose above the Appleby keeper Ousby to flick the ball home with his head. Now under constant pressure Appleby’s task was made much more difficult when Lee Turnbull was dismissed for a foul on Richard Bannister. A desperate tackle saw Turnbull pick up a second yellow as Bannister was racing through on goal.

The seemingly impossible come back was very much on when Sam Rowley scored from the six yard box. Soon after Keswick did find an equaliser as Bannister curved a clever run past the Appleby defence and smashed the ball home with his left foot from a tight angle. With extra time looming there was to be a winning goal. A ball into the penalty box saw a coming together between a Keswick forward and Appleby keeper and Ousby was adjudged to have fouled. This gave Keswick the chance to snatch a late victory with an improbable turnaround. Keswick full back Karl Southern smashed the ball home and delivered the WCFA Invitational Trophy back to Keswick.

Full Time: Appleby 3 Keswick 4


Appleby FC

Tom Armstrong, Bobby Atkinson, John Coward, Jordan Crawford, Dylan Critchley, Richard Faustino, Ben Jackson, Liam Kinnear, Anthony Lund, David Nugent, Tony Ousby, Jack Overs, Ross Parkin, Lee Turnbull

Keswick FC

John Phillips, Zak Marriott, Karl Southern, Sam Reilly, Lewis Cumber, Steven Hindmarch, Charlie Andrews, Alfie West, Richard Bannister, Declan Robinson, Tom Atkinson, Chris Rowley, Stephen Hilton, Sam Rowley

Match Officials:

Referee: Bernard Law

Assistant Referees: Colin Miles and Mark Robson

4th Official: Chris Dixon

Photo provided by Ben Challis