FA County Youth Cup

Saturday 22 October 2016
FA County Youth Cup – 2nd Round

Westmorland County FA v Nottinghamshire County FA
at Kendal...

This season Westmorland County FA are working in partnership with Kendal Town FC to develop young players at under 18 level and giving them maximum opportunity to develop as a team and particularly as individuals. The same team managed by George Gudgeon will represent both organisations.

A young Westmorland Under 18 team took on Nottinghamshire County FA and equipped themselves very well in an entertaining game.

It was the home side who had the early chances and saw their claims for a penalty, when centre forward Matthew Clarke was brought down in the 15th minute waved away by the Referee. At the other end Curtis Millward had a shot deflected wide just on 25 minutes.

Immediately at the other end the visiting keeper Joshua Turtan was lucky to snatch a cross off Will Booth’s head to deny the home team a deserved lead and the last of the half Turton saved well from Clarke on 39 minutes.

Half Time: Westmorland County FA 0, Nottinghamshire FA 0

The visiting team came out much stronger in the second half against the young Westmorland side and took the lead at 60 minutes when Millward tapped in from close range following good work on the right.

Nottinghamshire had a couple of players cautioned, James Matthews (76 – holding) and Darian Roberts (89 – late tackle).  They could have easily increased their lead but Ben Hunt headed over from close range (74).  Kieran Sill saved well from Jack Batty (85) and again from Roberts a minute later.

Full Time: Westmorland County FA 0, Nottinghamshire FA 1

Manager George Gudgeon was delighted with his young team’s performance and looks forward to the next game in the Association of Northern Counties Youth Competition.


Westmorland County FA:

Kieran Sill, Brandon Colloby, Dan Jones, George Key, Dan Ashton, Ben Humble, Joe Carradus, Regan Coates, Matthew Clarke,  William Booth, Ethan Burrow

Subs: Jack Armstrong, Jordan Cragg, Camron Neil, Joe Fiddler

Nottinghamshire FA:

Joshua Turton, Charlie Sheridan, Ben Hunt, Oliver McCourt,  James Weaver, James Mathews, Jake Batty, Luke Bacon, Tom Hallsworth, Curt Millward, Kamen Brown

Subs: Lee Basilisco, Darian Roberts, Jassi Singh,

Referee:    Ian Gittins 

Assistant Referees:     Niall Eaves and Robert Spouse

Related News

View All